Sleeping Giants – Sylvain Neuvel

“Family has a way of bringing out the worst in people. Every people.”

I was so excited to receive an ebook version of this book from netgalley, but I now have such mixed feelings, as it was nothing like I expected it to be! I think it was the UK cover which threw me off, stars? space? These seemed to fit with the blurb, so I was expecting some sort of adventure set in space, but no!

I really enjoyed the format of this book. It is set out in a series of interviews and logs, mostly following a single narrator. Through these interviews we get to know our other main characters. The narrator is not given a name during the book and when asked withholds it from our other characters, giving him(?) an air of superiority.

Once I had gotten past my initial confusion I enjoyed the story set in front of me. It was fascinating how the story unfolded and how the elements all fit together (excuse the pun!). I was all ready to award the book four stars during the first half, but do feel that unfortunately my interest level dropped in the second half. I will follow the series forward, and see what the second book has to offer as this series has so much potential. (3/5)

Check it out on Goodreads

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑