The Tattooist of Auschwitz – Heather Morris

“If you wake up in the morning, it is a good day.”

The Tattooist of Auschwitz is a book which holds within a very important story for the world to read. I found aspects of this book fascinating, however, I feel the writing slightly missed the mark for me.

I believe that the issue I had with the book was mainly the character development. This is probably because Morris focused so heavily on the important story she had to tell, sticking true to the facts, and not letting Lale down. However, because of this I felt the characters weren’t as developed as I’d have liked, and they may well have benefitted with having extra scenarios within the story, or maybe even revealing more details of their pasts. Despite this, I found it hard to put the book down and I really wanted to find out how the story unravelled. I can’t help but ask myself, would the book have worked on a higher level if it had been written as a form of non-fiction and explored other areas within Auschwitz at the time?

I really do suggest you give this book a go, as it holds within it such an important story, that many people have thoroughly enjoyed discovering. I was so excited to get my hands on this book, I just feel it was lacking the depth I had hoped for, which was maybe my own fault entirely? I will, however, be sure to revisit this story as I believe it’ll stick with me for quite some time yet, and who knows, maybe I’ll end up seeing the book everyone has been raving about! (3/5)

 Check it out on Goodreads

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑